top of page
  • Writer's pictureSew for Christ

Sketches: Windows & Advertisements

Updated: Jun 15, 2023

I am by no means proficient at sketching. I've always appreciated traditional art forms and wanted to do well at them, but the color required in painting and other forms of drawing is beyond my ability. I sketch, from time to time, as a relaxing activity. Primarily, I sketch birds and flora. On the first day of Rosh Chodesh Adar, I made two sketches from pictures I've taken on my travels.



This first wonky sketch is of a window on an old bank in Brunswick, Maine. The original inspiration can be found in the photos from my Brunswick post. The building used to be the town's bank, and now it's used by a modern bank. It reminds me of these two verses in Ecclesiastes: "[G-d] has made everything beautiful in its time," (v. 11) and "whatever exists, has already been and whatever will be, has already been, but G-d recalls what has passed." (v. 15).



This second sketch is of a wall hanging found in a thrift shop. It was, unfortunately, not for sale. It's a Coca-Cola advertisement in Hebrew.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page