top of page
  • Writer's pictureSew for Christ

Psalm 96:12 - Nature Worships God


This quilt is made in the red delicious pattern from American Patchwork & Quilts (issue 165 August 2020). The original pattern had the block in shades of red. For a more dizzying pattern, I chose to make two blocks the inverse of each other. The junctions create a secondary pattern.


I created this quilt from an abundance of the plaid and brown fabric. This quilt was made to be used in the outdoors, like on a picnic or in the hammock. I also take it as a travel blanket on trips. I wasn't crazy about the fabrics, so I thought that I wouldn't care if it got stained or used up well. Turns out because of its function, it's one of my most used quilts.

"Let the land exult—and all that is in it. Then all the trees of the forest will sing for joy." (Psalm 96:12 TLV)


In this psalm, the psalmist is praising God for His faithfulness. God will come to judge the earth, and us as the faithful will be blessed. The psalmist is ecstatic in his joy and illustrates how the earth and everything in it– the sea, the rocks, the land, the trees– praises God. If the entire earth praises God with all that it is, shouldn't we also? We know the glory of God and His splendor. Therefore, the psalmist joins the earth in praising God with this new song.


As I mentioned, I use this quilt a lot outside. It's seen its fair share of land, rocks, and trees. All the trees of the forest sing for joy, says the psalm, and we certainly have a lot of trees. I'd like to think that this quilt, in the forest and in the fields, will sing out in glory to God, just as I do. If the earth sings in worship to God, and His faithful people cry out to honor Him, so should the work of our hands.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page