top of page
  • Writer's pictureMusic for Christ

Liebestraum No. 3 - Liszt



Liebestraum, meaning “love dream,” often just refers to the third work, the most popular. The piece is incredibly romantic, fitting its name nicely. It’s one of Liszt’s most popular pieces.

As fantastic as the piece is, I have found how it can be made better: jazz. I love jazz, though I know many classical musicians abhor the mixing of classical pieces and jazz techniques. I am no such purist. I feel that this jazz interpretation carries the original thought of the piece even into a different genre.


Imagine the original classical piece is the first covenant. The second covenant, b’rit hadashah, is jazz. They are both important, and jazz wouldn’t have developed without hundreds of years of classical music. Together, they make one new song (man).

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page