top of page
  • Writer's pictureSew for Christ

Isaiah 53:5 - Healing Paid For by a Whip


This quilt is in a checkered pattern with the overlaps being quarter square triangles. The prints are flannel prints in plaid, check, and strip patterns. The solid is a tan bed sheet. The backing was made from a flannel sheet of dark red buffalo check. The same flannel also serves as the binding, as seen in the image.


This quilt was made as a gift for a family friend. This friend had a heart attack and was recovering in the hospital. To cheer them up and liven up the hospital, I made this quilt. From the check pattern in design, and the stripes in the prints, as well as the reasoning behind the gift, I chose this verse:


"But He was pierced because of our transgressions,

crushed because of our iniquities.

The chastisement for our shalom was upon Him,

and by His stripes we are healed." (Isaiah 53:5 TLV)


This is a prophecy from God to Isaiah concerning the Messiah. Jesus is described as a man of sorrow, rejected by the world He came to save. For our sins He suffered, and because of His stripes –the lashes of the whip– we are healed. As a result of His sacrifice, we have the power of sin, sickness, and death. We truly can be forgiven of our sins, be healed of our afflictions, and cheat death itself.


I had hoped by choosing this verse that the family friend would recall that Jesus already defeated sickness by the lashing and on the cross. The family friend did recover quite quickly and was back at work in no time, healthy once again.


I confess, there was another reason besides encouragement that I made this quilt. I believe that objects that we pray over have a transitive quality. Something that has been in the glory of God will continue to release that glory even if removed from that atmosphere. It's like when you have a campfire, and even after washing the clothes you wore still smell smoky. When I was making this quilt, I spoke in tongues over it the entire process, from piecing to ironing to quilting to binding. At the end, I blessed the quilt once again to have a healing power. I didn't have the access to go see this family friend and lay hands on them myself to pray for a healing, but this quilt would reach them. I prayed that whoever used this quilt would be blessed and healed of their afflictions. In this way, my impact goes beyond just giving a blanket. I get to impart the power of the Holy Spirit in objects that continue our God's agenda even in places I cannot be.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page