top of page
  • Writer's pictureSew for Christ

Ezekiel 15:5 - Warning Against Uselessness


This quilt is in the single Irish chain pattern. The background teal color is from a bed sheet, with the same color for the binding and backing. The cream accent color is from a cotton bed sheet.


The teal bed sheet used to be part of the bed sheet set that I actively used, until I managed to kick a hole through the fitted sheet. The pillow cases and top sheet were used to make this quilt.


The sheets were quite nice and cool on my bed, and now this quilt is used as my primary summer bedding. Even though the fitted sheet had a massive frayed tear in it, I was able to make good use of the rest of the set. I could've thrown out the entire set under the reasoning that I couldn't use a half completed set for bedding, but instead I put on my frugal thinking cap and found another way to use it.


The verse for this quilt is a warning against uselessness.


"Look, when it was whole, it was not useful for any work—how much less, when the fire has devoured it and it is charred, will it be useful for any work?" (Ezekiel 15:5 TLV)


In this context, God is speaking to Ezekiel about vine wood. Mature vine branches have a very woody texture and makeup, but they can't be used as wood material in the same way branches from a tree can be. You can't work with vine branches, they're only good for the fire. God uses this analogy to compare to the inhabitants of Jerusalem. They are useless to Him, and He describes them as a faithless and thus fit only for the fire (v. 8).


This verse is a remind to me to not turn away from God and stay faithful. The pattern name, Irish chain, reminds me to stay connected –linked– to God. The consequences of turning away from God and be useless to His purposes is fire.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page