top of page
  • Curios for Christ

Brass Desk Lamp


This is a vintage desk lamp that I got for free. It's made from a mixture of pure brass and brass plated, with some wood (possibly walnut). It's beautiful and very sturdily made. It originally came from the previous owner of my piano as a sheet music reading lamp. I've since moved it's location.


This lamp sits on a high shelf in my reading nook of my office. It sits above my reclining wing-back, the same chair found holding quilts in these posts. It's on the shelf just above the flowers. It casts light right over my shoulder onto whatever I happen to be doing, like reading or crocheting.


If I had placed the lamp on the shelf next to my chair, it wouldn't shine well onto my work. It has to be high up in order to be useful. This situation may be familiar, as Yeshua uses it as an example at the Sermon on the Mount:


"You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a basket. Instead, they put it on a lampstand so it gives light to all in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before men so they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven.” (Matthew 5:14-16 TLV)


Yeshua isn't just calling His people to shine. Shining is well and fine, but a lamp that is covered or points in the wrong direction is useless for getting anything done. Instead, we have to shine prominently, from a useful spot.


As the light of the world, we have a calling to be brand ambassadors for His kingdom. When a celebrity does an endorsement ad for a company, they don't air the ad on obscure videos and channels. Instead, they put the ad on high-profile billboards and prime-time television.


We must be the same way. As PR agents of the Kingdom, we must boldly do good and call attention to G-d's wonders. We must be obvious about our admiration for G-d. What good is our zeal if we keep it hidden under covers? Instead, be ambitious in sharing your faith. Make it apparent on high shelves and lampstands so that your light shines brightly on the works of the Kingdom.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page